Awty Gala

It was amazing to see so many of you Saturday night at the 2022 Awty Gala, Night at the Races. We were thrilled to be back in person and raise funds for our fantastic school!  The evening seemed to come alive with the colors and fashion of true derby gala.  From the lovely meal prepared by The Post Oak Hotel to the dancing until 1:00 a.m., it was a night to be remembered.

Hats (and fascinators) off to Reva Azeez and Trienet del Valle for chairing this year’s record breaking event.  You are our grand champions!  Thanks to everyone’s efforts, we are incredibly happy to report that we have raised more than $610,000 for Awty…and still counting. 

Many thanks to our generous partners especially Chevron, Residences at the Allen, Schlumberger, TotalEnergies, and Mr. Harry Z. Yan and Mrs. Weiman Gao, who were our lead sponsors for the evening.  The full list of sponsors and underwriters can be found below.

Thank you to all who donated auction items and participated in our record-breaking online and live auctions.  The online auction raised over $107,000, while our live auction Saturday night raised over $160,000.  Another special thank you to those who supported our faculty and staff through Paddles Up for professional development.  Overall, it was a night to remember and we appreciate all who participated.

The Awty community showed up in a big way for our Night at the Races! Thanks to you, we are ALL standing in the winner’s circle.

Thank You to our 2022 Sponsors and Underwriters

Triple Crown

Grand Champion

In the Lead
Mr. Joseph Ahmad and Mrs. Hala Ahmad
Mr. Ergin Aydin and Ms. Peggy Krendl & Mrs. Cathy Krendl
Mr. Omar Azeez and Ms. Reva Azeez & Mr. Mauricio del Valle and Mrs. Trienet del Valle
Mr. Zishan T. Momin and Mrs. Sana A. Momin

Air Liquide
Harvey Builders
Southern Cadence Cuisine, Tylitha Stewart, & Uncle Funky’s Daughter
Mr. Francisco Uzcategui and Mrs. Evelyn Uzcategui

High Steppers - Couples Sponsorships

Mr. Nabil W. Arwadi and Mrs. Gabrielle M. Arwadi
Mr. Khaled Attar and Mrs. Alexandra C. Attar
Mr. David Blackstock and Dr. Renee A. Laverdiere
Mr. Michael J. Blankenship and
Mrs. Masha Blankenship
Mr. Frederick M. Brown, III and Dr. Catherine Cahill
Mr. Emiliano Bruzos and Mrs. Romina Moscoso
Dr. Shonté Byrd
Mr. Mauricio Camargo and Dr. Dina Winograd
Mr. Michael A. Carrasco and
Ms. Ingrid V. Graves-Carrasco
Mr. Jonathan Castelan and Mrs. Virginia Castelan
Mr. Joseph Chadraoui and Mrs. Randa Chadraoui
Anna and Fred Charlton
Mr. Jason Cox and Mrs. Stephanie Cox
Mr. Samer Danial and Mrs. Lama Bchara
Mr. Amin M. Dhanani and Mrs. Saeeda Dhanani
Mr. Kivanc Dikmen and Mrs. Carmen Dikmen
Dredgit Corp.
Endodontics Houston, Adrian Reyes DDS
Mr. Justin T. Fojtik and Dr. Krystal R. Batchelor
Mr. Shern Frederick and Mrs. Katie Frederick
Dr. Etai Funk and Mrs. Laura Funk
Mr. Chao Gao and Mrs. Lea Yin
Mr. Joseph C. Gatto, Jr. and Mrs. Johanne Gatto
Mr. Glen Gonzalez and Mr. Stephen B. Summers
Mr. Gautam Gopinath and Mrs. Pauline Huen
Mr. Aurelien H. Guichard and
Mrs. Anna M. Guichard
Mr. Damon Hearn and Dr. Candice Burnette
Mr. Kashif Hirani and Mrs. Heena Hirani
Mr. Nick Horodinca and Dr. Sarah K. Nicholas
Dr. Jason Huse and Ms. Sonia T. Huse
Mr. Chermon James and Ms. Natara Williams
Mr. Danilo M. Juvane and Mrs. Stephanie B. Juvane
Prof. Guven E. Keles and Dr. Elvin Aydin Keles
Mr. Fawad Khan and Mrs. Abeer Alattar
Mr. Marc N. Khoury and Dr. Danielle El Haddad

Ms. Christine Kirchner and Mr. Ken Stanley
Dr. Vinodh A. Kumar and Dr. Nashat Latib
Dr. Alexander J. Lazar and Ms. Victoria V. Lazar
Mr. Stephen C. Lewis and Mrs. Allison T. Lewis
Dr. James Liu and Mrs. Erika Liu
Mr. Barrett A. McNabb and
Mrs. Kimberly M. McNabb
Mr. Malik Merchant and Mrs. Zara Merchant
Mr. Akbar Mohamed and Mrs. Rishma Mohamed
Mr. Michael W. Nydegger and
Ms. Pamela M. Dorsey
Mr. Daniel C. Ogbonna and
Dr. Martina C. Ogbonna
Dr. Shola Olorunnipa and Ms. Yewande Fapohunda
Mr. Freddy Ortega and Ms. Liliana Vera
Mr. Douglas P. Overman and
Mrs. Veronica A. Overman
Mr. Cesaltino Pedro and Mrs. Eskedar B. Shawel
Dr. Alejandro Restrepo and Dr. Liliana Rueda
Mr. Jay Reynolds and Dr. Felisa Reynolds
Mr. Bryon A. Rice and Mrs. Ashley A. Rice
Mr. Christopher J. Riley and Mrs. Darcy D. Riley
Mr. Romain J. Rouaud and Mrs. Clio C. Crespy
Mr. Zain Sayed and Dr. Shiau H. Chin
Dr. Timothy J. Seipel and Dr. Catherine P. Seipel
Mr. Khaled A. Sharafeldin and
Mrs. Glenna B. Sharafeldin
Mr. Andrew J. Strachan and
Mrs. Joanna M. Strachan
Mr. Brett Sweeney and Mrs. Elizabeth Sweeney
Mr. Monsour Taghdisi and Mr. Henry Richardson
Mr. Steven Tang and Mrs. Stella Tang
Thakkar & Co.
Mr. Eric Tracy and Mrs. Tara Tracy
Mr. Zaheed A. Umatiya and Mrs. Salima Umatiya
Dr. Ajay Vargheese and Dr. Melissa S. Thomas
Dr. Michael White and Dr. Claire Hoppenot
Mr. Luca Zanotti and Mrs. Stefania A. Lubner
Mr. Hugh Zhang and Mrs. Lulu Tan


VIP Party

Online Auction
Mr. Akbar Mohamed and Mrs. Rishma Mohamed

Table Décor
Mr. Larry Seligmann and Mrs. Tatiana Seligmann

Red Wine
Ms. Christine Kirchner and Mr. Ken Stanley

DJ / Music
Mr. Mike He and Mrs. Cindy Wang

Sparkling Wine
Dredgit Corp.

Special Entertainment
Mr. Shalin Patel and Mrs. Rupali Patel

Valet Service
Dr. Ajay Vargheese and Dr. Melissa S. Thomas

Table Host Gifts
Dennis Uniform

Video Production
Mr. Steven Tang and Mrs. Stella Tang

Dr. Shonté Byrd

Reception Decor
Anna and Fred Charlton

Auction Ringmen
Mr. Sivanand Nidamarthy and
Mrs. Suneeta V. Nidamarthy

Reception Music
Mr. Luca Zanotti and Mrs. Stefania A. Lubner

Dance Floor
Mrs. Sana N. Boghani

Photo Booth
Dr. Shervin Assassi and Dr. Azadeh Motekallem

Additional support provided by:
LifeHTX - Mr. Monsour Taghdisi
Mr. Francisco Rivero and Mrs. Mitzi Rivero
Mr. Ashif Ukani and Mrs. Sonya Mouftah

lauren linn, director of events


Acting Director of Advancement

To view photos from past galas, click on the links below:

The Awty Gala is a yearly fundraising black tie event for parents, faculty and staff occurring each spring that is produced by a large committee of parents (the Gala Committee) in partnership with the Awty Advancement Office.